New Australian TV channel - TEN-HD

Off-topic general chat. Talk about anything here.
Post Reply
User avatar
squid
Respected Uploader
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 5:49 pm
Has thanked: 469 times
Been thanked: 727 times

New Australian TV channel - TEN-HD

Post by squid » Sun Sep 16, 2007 9:52 am

Just saw on ten news tonight that a new channel will begin airing from December this year. The new channel is called TEN-HD. Sounds awesome ;)

Badger
Making some noise
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 5:22 pm

Post by Badger » Sun Sep 16, 2007 10:49 am

Isn't there already a HD channel for 10 ?.. Just never anything on it. Unlike 7 and 9 I cant recall ever seeing anything shown on 10's HD channel.. perhaps this is the channel there talking about :)

User avatar
squid
Respected Uploader
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 5:49 pm
Has thanked: 469 times
Been thanked: 727 times

Post by squid » Sun Sep 16, 2007 10:58 am

Yeah it's a bit confusing like that but I think it's a whole new channel with different shows and all. They had a segment on the news tonight about it so i'm pretty sure it's something brand new heading our way. They promised at least 30% unseen shows to start with and the rest will be made up of behind the scenes footage from shows like aussie idol etc, and some repeated stuff from what I gather.

User avatar
squid
Respected Uploader
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 5:49 pm
Has thanked: 469 times
Been thanked: 727 times

Post by squid » Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:03 am

here's an independant news report about it http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/st ... 43,00.html

It looks like Channel 7 are doing the same thing btw :)

User avatar
Widescreen
Respected Uploader
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 5:52 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Has thanked: 209 times
Been thanked: 805 times

Post by Widescreen » Sun Sep 16, 2007 1:47 pm

Network 10's current HD channel has the same programming as its standard definition counterpart (but in glorious 1080i).
Its good to hear that finally there will be a "new" channel (like ABC2) which offers new (and different) programming as well as time-shifted shows.

jowe43
Forum contributor
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 2:13 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Post by jowe43 » Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:36 pm

yeh this is going to be awesome if they do it properly. I love abc2, which is miles better then regular abc.

Especially after they played 'the who' live in concert in full this week. What other channel would have done that. :)

User avatar
squid
Respected Uploader
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 5:49 pm
Has thanked: 469 times
Been thanked: 727 times

Post by squid » Sun Sep 16, 2007 3:05 pm

how swoit are all the live concerts on ABC2 :wink: if anyone hasn't got a digital set top box yet, get one! :)

ABC2 TV guide: http://www.abc.net.au/tv/abc2/

User avatar
Widescreen
Respected Uploader
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 5:52 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Has thanked: 209 times
Been thanked: 805 times

Post by Widescreen » Sun Sep 16, 2007 7:31 pm

... or even better, get a hard disk recorder with inbuilt digital tuners. I picked up a Sony one that was on special which has a 250GB drive and twin Hi-Def tuners - so you can record TWO programs at once, or record one and watch another channel or even another recorded program at the same time! :D
Sadly, it has no external connections for outputting its contents other than to the TV - so no capping capability. :cry:

Badger
Making some noise
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 5:22 pm

Post by Badger » Mon Sep 17, 2007 9:16 pm

Yeah I have a LG HDSTB Recorder.

You could prob use composite cable into PC to cap from it.. But if its anything like mine you wont be able to get menus up while in SD.

User avatar
hippyd
Respected Uploader
Posts: 918
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 7:50 am
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 6551 times

Post by hippyd » Wed Nov 07, 2007 2:45 pm

I have a sharp 80gig dvd recorder which is getting old and has stopped recording to dvd-rw for some reason. Next thing I wanna get is a HD tuner PVR with ethernet conection to transfer recorded stuff to pc

User avatar
Dv8
Respected contributor
Posts: 4466
Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 12:38 am
Has thanked: 3114 times
Been thanked: 42625 times

Post by Dv8 » Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:56 am

Channels 10's 1080i HD broadcast starts tonight at 8.30pm officially... Going by their promos I thought it would be broadcast as progressive not interlaced :? oh well...

User avatar
SKaVeN
Respected contributor
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 2:56 pm
Has thanked: 3 times

Post by SKaVeN » Tue Dec 18, 2007 2:49 am

I keep my STB set at 1080i because of Channel Sandra yesterday. If I set it in 720p, I get a flicker whenever I change over to 1 or 12. It never used to but a few months ago it started to & has been persistently doing it ever since. It's the same with another STB I've got hooked up to another TV in another room so it's obviously something the network has done...
The difference between ignorance and apathy? I don't know, and I couldn't care less.

Post Reply

Return to “General Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests